Star Wars: Force Unleashed – Review (PS3)

 

Even as someone who isn’t really into Star Wars I enjoyed the demo of this game way back in 2008 when it was released.

I was waiting for it to come down in price before committing and eventually I saw it on offer so I picked it up.

Telling the story of Darth Vader’s apprentice and set before the original Star Wars movies, Force Unleashed tasks you with getting a handle on the Force and dishing out punishment to various enemies.

The story was fairly interesting but as I said above not being a big Star Wars fan I didn’t recognise most of the characters and obviously fans of the films may get more enjoyment out of the game.

The control system is well implemented and you will soon find yourself using the Force to throw enemies all over the place :smile:

However the game seems to suffer from ‘Prototype‘ syndrome. It gives you lots of various upgrades and Force moves but I really only needed one of them and the light saber.

It didn’t really force me to use the others (I guess because people might not have them unlocked all at the same time) so I ended up just using the few I had the best control of.

Graphically the game is good for a title released a few years back and the cut scenes are fairly well done.

Overall I found the Force Unleashed to be a bit disappointing. As well as being short (5 hours) the gameplay can get repetitive and if you’re not a fan of Star Wars you may be better to give this one a miss. But for fans of the films this might be worth a rent.

Rating: 5/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments

  1. [...] Star Wars: Force Unleashed – Review (PS3) « GregHorrorShow [...]

  2. I loved this game, and didnt feel the need to replay, but now its a collectible.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers