A New Challenger Has Entered!

Back in my early gaming days there was one arcade machine likely to get the kids crowded round it… Street Fighter II.

Quite simply we’d never seen anything like it – the animations, the colours, THE MOVES!

‘Holy crap he just threw a fireball!’

‘Check out this guy – he can pull off Zangief’s spinning piledriver.’

A fair amount of 20p’s – yes you young scamps it was only 20p in those days – were thrown into the machine practising moves and trying to get as far as possible.

You would watch others play – trying to see how they were pulling off certain moves, this was in the days before the internet so we couldn’t ‘google’ “Street Fighter II Moves” and see what came up.

Eventually with the boom of the home console market SF II made its way onto the SNES and later the Mega Drive/Genesis.

Coming out first on the SNES meant I didn’t have access to a copy – only at friends houses as I was a Sega man but one of my mates let me have his copy of a magazine which listed all the characters and moves for the game.

Man did I read that article over and over. We are talking hundreds of times – looking at the combos, thinking of the best way to lead this move into this move. It became an obsession and I loved playing the game at friends but the short sessions meant it was never a great deal of practice.

Eventually the game came to Mega Drive. I remember picking up my copy for £54.99 – I sometimes wonder how the hell they got away with charging that much for games, I suppose because people kept buying them 😀

This meant that you could get your mates round for fights or just practice on your own, as I often did, trying to perfect the Dragon Punch.

Each of the characters had their own storyline and we were all desperate to finish the game with each character to see all the endings. And it wasn’t as simple as chucking it on easy and playing through – oh no, we tried that. Beat the game on easy and all you got was this message:

“Thanks for completing the game on Easy now try it on Medium!” 😥

Can you imagine that these days? Wouldn’t happen I suspect but it spurred us on to get better and play through on the higher settings.

Of course all of this was secondary to getting back into the arcades – showing off your new found skills, pulling off dragon punches or perfectly timed sonic booms… and realising you’re not as good as you think when someone hands you your ass on a plate with a side order of hadoken.

Although frustrating getting beaten, especially so publicly often meant going back to the drawing board – possibly a change in character?

 

I know people who were resolute – they stuck with one character and tried to perfect their game with them.

I preferred to mix and match a few – Guile was undoubtedly my favourite character but I often switched to Ryu, Blanka or Chun Li if he wasn’t doing the business.

As time went on Street Fighter became something that was just played on the odd occasion, for old time’s sake if you like.

I never moved on to Street Fighter 3 but instead switched to the newly released Mortal Kombat. I played some Marvel vs. Capcom but couldn’t really get into it.

So when I heard talk of Street Fighter IV I was mildly interested but as information leaked my interest crept up.

“The graphics look great, they haven’t gone fully 3-D, the gameplay is brilliant, it’s just like the old days” is what seemed to scream out from every preview I read at the time.

And so I was really looking forward to getting my hands on the game and seeing if the hype was true and Capcom had pulled it off – first impressions are good but I’m going to give it some more attention and get a review up shortly.

1 Comment

  1. Cool site 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

