Bangkok Dangerous – Review (Film)

bangkok

 Nicolas Cage stars as Joe, a friendless hitman who is beginning to consider a life outside of assassinations.

Following a strict set of rules Joe has become one of the best and most respected assassins in the business.

Deciding to follow Rule 4, “Know when it’s time to get out,” Joe decides this will be his last job – the final big pay off, 4 kills in Bangkok.

The only problem being that once he gets there he breaks some of the other rules that have served him well over the years.

Will his new found social interactions cost him? Is he losing his edge? These issues are touched upon in amongst the unmigated carnage Joe brings down on his victims.

Nic Cage does a great job as Joe and Shahkrit Yamnarm as his ‘sidekick’ Kong was really impressive. On the whole I thought the film was well cast and the characterisation was well handled.

I really enjoyed Bangkok Dangerous – it occasionally went a little over the top in the sentimentality and teacher/student stakes but not in a way that detracted from the story itself.

I am partial to a hitman film anyway so I guess I was predisposed to like this – one thing I would’ve liked to have seen would have been a few more different ways of killing people. Maybe in a flashback of older victims or something.

I suppose I’ve been spoilt by the Hitman game series where there are all manner of insane, and yet totally genius, ways of taking down a target.

Bangkok Dangerous is a US remake of a Thai film, with the same title, from 1999. In the original the hitman is deaf and mute, which certainly sounds interesting. They have clearly switched things around for the US version and I’d like to see the original before commenting on whether that’s a good or bad thing.

Having watched this on DVD I was also privvy to both endings and I’m still undecided as to which one was best – the gritty one or the Hollywood one.

A film like this can’t really be called a buddy movie but it certainly has some of that charm, which I think is why I can’t make my mind up over the ending. Almost everytime I prefer the more realistic or darker ending but I guess every now and then it’s nice to see a cheesy ending. One thing I would say though is that even with the cheesy ending they reigned it in a bit and didn’t go the whole hog.

This is a film that won’t be to everybody’s taste – hence the lukewarm critics ratings despite going to No.1 at the US box office – but if you like your films stylish and violent then I’d say give Bangkok Dangerous a try, you might just like it.

Rating: 7/10

1 Comment

  1. Good review, spookily similar score!!

    Definitely a fan of the gritty ending myself.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

