Red Faction: Guerrilla Demo Impressions (PS3)

red1

Fun.

I could really just leave it at that and move on but I suppose I better go into a bit more detail 🙂

From the trailer style opening it appears that your character Alec Mason is part of a rebel group (Red Faction I’m guessing :lol:) that wants to wrestle control of Mars back from a totalitarian governement that is calling the shots – and kidnapping loads of innocent civilians to ship to work camps for their own means.

I’ll be honest I found it a bit muddled and quite frankly after about 20/30 seconds I skipped the demo trailer as I was worried it would spoil the game itself for me.

After inverting the controls (GregHorrorShow Gaming Tip #1) I got stuck in. And I mean that literally. Handed some sort of Thor type hammer I smashed a few solar panels up. Nice, everything broke realistically.

I had to make my way over to an exclaimation mark on my map to steal a ‘walker’ (think the robot thing Ripley uses at the end of Aliens) to give to the rebels.

Cool I think, goddamn facist pigs – wait till I… *swings hammer*

Suddenly realizing I’m about to clump a woman rather than a man I pull back and miss her. I feel a little swell of pride that even in a game on Mars my morals are still upstanding. Only briefly though as I spot a man instead and smack him with the hammer.

BOOM! Awesome, he goes down hard. Wait a minute, what? I’ll lose the rebels trust if I kill them? These guys are the rebels? Oh. *clears throat* sorry about that.

As I come round the corner I start getting shot at by some dudes with odd helmets on – Ok so THESE are the bad guys.

A couple of swings with my trusty hammer take them down and I’m alerted to a nearby vehicle which I jump into and haphazardly, while being shot at I hasten to add, screech my way over to the exclaimation mark on the map.

I get out the truck and use the hammer to smash the warehouse door – cool.

Then I get in the Walker and trudge out, destroying buildings and helmet guys with the sweeping arms of the mechanoid. I’m launching cars in the air and generally causing mayhem. It’s great.

The Walker seems indestructable which I guess could be a problem in so far as you could feel too safe when in one.

For the purposes of the demo though it was great and I successfully got it to a nearby truck and loaded it onto the back.

Someone else took the wheel while I operated some form of cannon blaster at the back of the vehicle. The following on-rails driving section saw explosions aplenty, the cannon was so powerful every shot sent the chasing armoured cars flying through the air like the opening sequence of The A-Team 😀

I also demolished some of the governments surrounding buildings/processing plants – take that corporate scum 😮

We made it past over a bridge just in time as the rebels blew it up to stop the guys chasing us.

This was far exceeding my expectations and I was genuinely interested to see what else I could try out… except that was it.

Oh.

In a world where we are constantly showered with free demos that are pretty much a whole level I didn’t see that coming.

On the plus side the demo did it’s job perfectly – I have to admit I thought Red Faction looked average, that I probably would try the demo and end up not bothering to pick the full game up.

But after blasting through the demo my interest is certainly raised. In fact I’m thinking of giving it another run through and seeing what else I can do within the confines of the demo.

Red Faction seems similar to Mercenaries 2, which I liked as a fun play despite it’s poor review scores.

Sometimes it’s nice to go back to the old school and not worry about stealth and cover – just hold down fire and everything will be alright 😎

1 Comment

  1. […] I said in my demo impressions, the main thing I took away from my brief glimpse of the game was how much fun it […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

