La Roux Tear Up Koko

laroux

Being a jaded music industry cynic πŸ˜€Β it’s not often I find myself caught up in the moment – especially at a gig by a new band.

But last night’s brilliant performance by La Roux at Koko gave me goosebumps. Literally.

Now I won’t pretend it was just the band, as awesome as Elly Jackson and her crew were, it was also the crowd reaction.

We’ve all been there – a gig by our favourite artist, they strike up the first notes of a hit record and the place goes wild. Cue goosebumps.

But working in the industry allows me to get the jump on this sometimes and I find myself in that situation with, in the case of La Roux, a band that I’m seeing live for the first time.

When they started ‘In For The Kill’ I thought the roof was gonna come off of Koko. It brings home the effect of music – how a great tune can lift your mood and make the day seem ok.

It’s nice to feel that from a new band. Obviously I’ve been listening to the tracks we’ve had in the office for months so am familiar with them but this isn’t about that as much as it is about feeling that moment – the connection between artist and audience.

As for La Roux, I’ll be interested to see what the full album is like – her voice is astounding and even the tracks I didn’t know sounded good, which bodes well.

La Roux’s debut album is out at the end of June and the latest single ‘Bulletproof’ is out now, so check them out and see what you think.

2 Comments

  1. […] This was another tight one because Florence and Madeleine Peyroux were such fantastic performers but I had to give it to La Roux for the atmosphere as well as the performance. See my original write up HERE. […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

