PSP Go!ing To Be Reborn?

pspgo

Well while the dust is settling on E3 I thought now would be a good time to do a piece on the PSP that I’ve meant to do for a few months.

My PSP gets plenty of use, I have a long journey into work (2hrs each way) so I have lots of time to play.

I would say 85% of my time has been spent on Football Manager. Firstly because it’s addictive as hell and secondly because there isn’t much else I’m bothered about playing on PSP.

Most of my friends with PSP’s barely use them nowadays and they sit unused and unloved in a corner somewhere.

Basically us PSP’ers get a handful of shoddy PS3 ports and loads of retro games (which I love but bloody hell could Midway squeeze any more of the same games on a slightly different compilation?! :mad:).

pspgo2

The last decent game was God Of War: Chains Of Olympus which was short but immensely awesome 😎 That was released in 2008. 😦

Then all of a sudden a few months back a shedload of games were announced:

Assassin’s Creed Blood Line

LittleBigPlanet

Motorstorm: Arctic Rift

Indiana Jones: Staff Of Kings

Madden 10

RockBand

I honestly thought it was joke. At this late stage in it’s lifecycle (almost 4 years in!) we are being treating to a plethora of excellent games? 😐

There were even a few other games that didn’t interest me but some people would be excited about (Final Fantasy and the like).

I googled and checked my favourite game sites… It seemed to be a genuine announcement. As a last precaution I checked the date wasn’t April 1st.

Nope, it was true. Brilliant. 😎

pspgo3

And then further down the line the rumour mill went into overdrive about a new PSP – ‘PSP Go!’ It doesn’t need UMD’s – it’s completely digital. I saw the mock up photo (which was pretty much what the final product looks like) and I liked it very much πŸ™‚

Since then we’ve had E3 and the full PSP Go! announcement.

pspgo4

My reaction had many stages:

1) Seeing it – Yay! Looks great πŸ™‚

2) Closer inspection – Ah, it doesn’t have a second analogue stick 😦

3) Hope and digital confirmation – Still looks great and I’m used to one analogue stick now. Digital is cool, don’t care how I get my games and longer battery life is sweet. Think I’ll replace my old (original) PSP with one of these 😎

4) Epic fail – $250???!!!!!!! 😑 That’s Β£150 directly converted but I imagine it will retail at Β£200 here in the UK. For a new digital version of a device I already own? FAIL πŸ˜₯

If you don’t already own a PSP and are cool with getting your games digitally this (possibly) isn’t so bad.

I certainly won’t be getting one until it drops dramatically in price (I’m talking dropping to Β£120 at least) and I should think even people who want a PSP and don’t have one may think twice about a handheld that costs more than an XBox 360!

PSP Go! looks like a lovely piece of kit but the price has killed it for me (for the time being). Maybe if I get my hands on one and it’s loads more comfortable etc I might reconsider.

But that wasn’t the only PSP news at E3, we also had the following announced:

pspgogt

Gran Turismo

pspgo6

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker

Oh yes.

A new Metal Gear game 😎

I’m not a huge fan of Gran Turismo on PS3 – it’s ok and 5 looks sweet but I don’t have the commitment to stick with it. But PSP could be a different matter as I could (technically) play it everyday.

These games (and the inital list above – except Madden) aren’t ports, they are being specifically designed for PSP.

Jade Raymond confirmed in an interview that Assassin’s Creed on PSP will reveal the link between Ailtair and Enzo. This is exactly the kind of content and side story that is perfect for the PSP platform.

We’ve also had the (slightly) limited but very fun Resistance Retribution in the meantime – again not a port but a Resistance game in it’s own right.

pspgo7

So to put it bluntly after nearly 4 years of moaning that there are no decent PSP games on the horizon I find myself excited to own a PSP going through the rest of this year and into 2010 – rumours of another God Of War game make me smile and I hope they are true but even if they aren’t there is enough coming up to keep me satisfied.

And Football Manager 2010 should be out towards the end of the year as well πŸ˜‰

5 Comments

  1. Really looking forward to Assassin’s Creed: Blood Lines (as well as Assassin’s Creed II of course!) Motor Storm: Arctic Rift looks awesome too!

    I must admit, after having played Portable Ops, Peace Walker doesn’t really excite me that much. I just wish they’d leave Snake alone – the MGS universe just seems a bit over-cooked now.

    But, Sony has definitely missed an opportunity with the PSP. They’ve got exclusivity on some of the biggest names in gaming, it just seems foolish not to have capitalised on that. It’s about time they started some dedicated PSP titles of current recognised PlayStation icons – Nathan Drake anyone? πŸ˜›

  2. I’ve actually just bought a PSP, hoping the back catalogue of games is large enough to give me some serious hours of playing. I’ve been interested in Patapon, LocoRoco and Crisis Core – but these games you’ve mentioned will certainly be added to my list.

    Portable online Little Big Planet? Now that would be fun!

  3. Great article as usual, I have thought about getting a PSP but the time I spend traveling I rarely would get a chance to actually play it. I was disappointed with the price of the PSP Go! but everything I have read has been real positive. I am sure all of the recently announced great games helps as well.

    • I agree seems like Sony are really backing the PSP at last. Also they announced that they were dropping the price of the PSP Dev Kit by 80% so hopefully more developers will get on board and make games for it.

  4. […] will get our content via digital streams – the introduction of the PSP Go! and Sony’s continued support of the PSN Store show they are serious about digital content […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

