GregHorrorShow’s Top 100 Games: 90 – 81

Resistance Fall Of Man

So it’s time for the second part of GregHorrorShow’s Top 100 Games.

A quick recap on how I decided who came where:

I decided, as so many games mean so many different things to me, I should come up with a fair way to judge them. This is what I came up with:

Time Spent Playing

Storyline

Difficulty

Fun

Ground Breaking?

A few provisos before we hit the next ten games…

Firstly this is my list of my Top 100 games. I certainly don’t expect you guys to agree with it (though hopefully you’ll agree with some of the choices 😆 ) and would welcome any comments.

Secondly, I’m not planning on putting the scores or totals up, just listing the games in the order they came out in.

Lastly, I never owned a Nintendo or Microsoft console so my experiences on these games were limited to friend’s houses etc – bite me 🙂

Let’s go!

 

90. DESTRUCTION DERBY (Playstation)

Destruction Derby

There’s something alluring about smashing cars up. Whether it’s GTA, GRID or Motorstorm it’s all about the crashes and smashes. So to create a game about Destruction Derby is what’s known as a ‘no-brainer.’ You all start on the ridge of a giant concrete bowl and when the buzzer goes you all drive into the middle and smash each other up. A great pass and play game before all this mutliplayer nonsense 🙂 this was a fixture on my PSOne for ages.

 

89. PACMAN (Arcade)

Pacman

One of the true classics. Sadly I was a bit young to get involved when it came out and by the time I was gaming we had moved on to bigger and ‘better’ things. I did play this a fair bit though and it was always really challenging. I liked seeing other people’s tactics… Go for the fruit straight away or try and save it until as late as possible?

 

88. ROCK BAND (Playstation 3)

Rock Band 

Rock Band is one of those games that you’ll have specific memories of and for me, playing at the launch party with my colleagues is it. After blitzing through Don’t Fear The Reaper I switched to drums and picked Ballroom Blitz – only to fail pretty much before anyone else joined in 😆 Great fun with mates and a solid online mode to boot.

 

87. SYPHON FILTER (Playstation)

Syphon Filter

Gabe Logan’s first outing was an absolute stunner that rivalled Metal Gear – it just didn’t quite match up to the grand scale and storyline of the Metal Gear world. Being slightly more action based and coming loaded with gadgets Syphon Filter was a great addition to the PSOne and with Splinter Cell currently an XBox exclusive could we see Gabe coming out of retirement and heading to PS3? I hope so 😎

 

86. TOMB RAIDER (Playstation)

Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider was a seminal game that helped put gaming and the Sony Playstation on the map for a lot of the general public. The game itself is a third person action/adventure title which features Lara Croft – the gaming world’s most famous ‘pin-up.’ Tomb Raider was a really enjoyable game but it never really resonated with me as a complete classic.

 

85. RED DEAD REVOLVER (Playstation 2)

Red Dead Revolver

I’ve always thought the Western was a sadly under-used genre in the gaming world since the arrival of the Playstation but with Red Dead Revolver, Rockstar did a great job of showing the genres strengths. The quick draw mode for shootouts was excellent but sadly a few bad design decisions and some gameplay annoyances meant this didn’t become the classic it could’ve been.

 

84. OUT RUN (ZX Spectrum)

Out Run

When most people think of driving games Out Run’s red Ferrari with the blonde haired female passenger often springs to mind. Hell, I can still hum some of the tunes from the radio of the car (Magical Sound Shower anyone :lol:) and the game delivered a sense of speed not really seen much previously. I used to spend ages on the ZX Spectrum version although the fact you had to load from the cassette whenever you chose which stretch of road at the end of a level to go for was fairly painful!

 

83. RESISTANCE: FALL OF MAN

Resistance

Resistance: Fall Of Man was probably one of the best launch titles the PS3 had. The game was impressively graphically but it was the inventiveness of the weapons – the Bullseye in particular that struck me. The Bullseye had a secondary fire mode whereby you could ‘tag’ an opponent. If you hit them with the tag you could fire you gun in any direction and the bullets would redirect straight at the target – brilliant. The storyline was cool and the gadgets you got were fun to use, generally an interesting and fun game.

 

82. TIME CRISIS

Time Crisis

Time Crisis was kind of like the step up in home light gun games after Lethal Enforcers and after playing it in the arcades it was nice to see it fairly accurately recreated on the PSOne. Hours of fun blasting through the levels. Although the game was fairly short it had a massive replay value as we all tried to outdo each other in terms of score and cool kills.

 

81. TOEJAM AND EARL (Sega Mega Drive)

Toejam and Earl

What a crazy, brilliant, messed up game this was! After crash landing their space ship, two aliens called Toejam and Earl have to find all the pieces of their ship to get back home. Much hilarity ensues, packaged within a really testing game. Randomly generated levels made it different all the time leaving Toejam and Earl firmly stuck on the planet for most folks, who didn’t have the time/patience to finish the game.

 

So that’s another ten down – Top 80 coming soon!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

6 Comments

  1. […] post by GregHorrorShow […]

  2. Man I loved Destruction Derby for the PS. I am looking forward to the rest of the list, keep it up.

    This gives me the inspiration to make my own list, although top 100 may be a bit to optimistic for me. 🙂

  3. Liked ‘Red Dead’ but those frickin’ clowns were the death of it for me! Hopefully the next one will be the western game we’ve all been waiting for.

    Loved ‘Pac Man’…jeez, I still play it now! The list is shaping up nicely – well done, man!

  4. I am a life long gamer…now I am on the 360 and I freakin’ love it!

    Nice list, I can’t wait to see the rest!

  5. […] played and enjoyed the two PS3 Resistance games (reviewed here for the Top 100: Resistance: Fall Of Man and here in full: Resistance 2) I was really pleased when they announced a PSP Resistance […]

  6. […] GregHorrorShow’s Top 100 Games: 90 – 81 […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

