GregHorrorShow’s Top 100 Games: 80 – 71

Final Fight

It’s time for games 80-71 in GregHorrorShow’s Top 100 Games!

A quick recap on how I decided who came where:

I decided, as so many games mean so many different things to me, I should come up with a fair way to judge them. This is what I came up with:

Time Spent Playing

Storyline

Difficulty

Fun

Ground Breaking?

A few provisos before we hit the next ten games…

Firstly this is my list of my Top 100 games. I certainly don’t expect you guys to agree with it (though hopefully you’ll agree with some of the choices 😆 ) and would welcome any comments.

Secondly, I’m not planning on putting the scores or totals up, just listing the games in the order they came out in.

Lastly, I never owned a Nintendo or Microsoft console so my experiences on these games were limited to friend’s houses etc – bite me 🙂

So here’s number 80!

 

80. WARHAMMER 40,000: FIRE WARRIOR (Playstation 2)

Fire Warrior

I was never really into Warhammer as a kid. I had the Space Crusade board game they put out but made up my own rules and that was as far as I went. However I was quite excited by the prospect getting into Space Marine gear and… Oh you’re not a Space Marine 😦 Despite that disappointment the game was great fun and it made a refreshing change to blast people with lasers as opposed to bullets. A good game with some nice shootouts as the story progresses.

 

79. DONKEY KONG (Arcade)

Donkey Kong

The game that made Mario famous. Donkey Kong was really difficult. Trying to get the little plumber up to the top without being hit by the numerous barrels thrown by Donkey Kong was a major challenge. Add in fireballs and elevators and it becomes nigh on impossible. One of the first real platform games and a real coin eater in the aracde.

 

78. SUPER PUNCH OUT (Arcade)

Super Punch Out

Another arcade classic – I’ve got lots of happy memories of this gem. In particular my nan playing it on one holiday and doing pretty well! 😆 This was a great game that put you squarely in the shoes of a boxer trying to win the world title. Your opponents were a ragtag bunch of cartoon-esque characters – after Glass Joe the rest stepped up the difficulty and kept you coming back for more.

 

77. FINAL FIGHT (Arcade)

One of my favourite games EVER. Final Fight was absolutely brilliant… limted but brilliant. The mayor’s daughter has been kidnapped and her friends Cody and Guy set off to rescue her. Oh, did I forget to mention her Dad is MIKE HAGGER 😎 He also goes along to rescue her. You had the choice of controlling either of the three men before dishing out some vigilante justice on the streets of Metro City. Awesome, just awesome.

 

76. MICRO MACHINES (Sega Mega Drive)

Micro Machines

Man, the hours I piled into this game are never coming back 🙂 Stonking multi-player racing, especially with the Mega Drive cartridge itself housing two extra pad ports for four player mayhem! Everyone always picked Spider but we all know if he was angry enough Walter probably could’ve taken him 😆 Seriously good racing, very well thought out courses and the hazards were brilliant.

 

75. MANIC MINER (ZX Spectrum)

Manic Miner

Manic Miner was a mainstay of my young gaming life as we had it for the ZX Spectrum when I was a kid. Boy was this a toughie! I think I only made it a few screens in. This was the ultimate in hardcore gaming for me for a long time. Frustrating but fun and it was a real challenge to see who could get the furthest.

 

74. DONKEY KONG COUNTRY (Super Nintendo)

Donkey Kong Country

I used to get to my mates house early before school every morning to play this at one stage. The comic style 3D graphics were like nothing else at the time and some of the gameplay was brilliant. This was one of those games that everybody was playing and it was one of the few decent games to do 3D properly.

 

73. WWE LEGENDS OF WRESTLEMANIA (Playstation 3)

WWE

All your favourites from the WWF era (excluding Macho Man Randy Savage) come together to battle it out in WWE Wrestlemania. What I love about this game is the fact it’s so easy to play and the quick time events for bigger moves/finishers is a brilliant addition. The best wrestling game in years.

 

72. TWISTED METAL (Playstation)

Twisted Metal

Rumours abound that Twisted Metal will be making a return to PS3 in the next year or so and I welcome it. The first game saw you enter into a competition against other drivers with the mysterious Calypso, who promises the winner whatever they desire. Vehicles are armed and it’s a fight to the death. Remembered for demonic ice cream van driving clown Sweet Tooth, my favourite was Crimson Fury or Spectre – brilliant characters.

 

71. KANE AND LYNCH (Playstation 3)

Kane And Lynch

I know Kane and Lynch got a lot of stick upon it’s release but for me, while it was broken in terms of camera and controls, it had enough great moments to see it through. Some of the levels were brilliant – the bank robbery, the jail break etc. I really liked the storyline and the online mode Fragile Alliance was one of the best concepts I’ve encountered for online multiplayer gaming. Essentially there is a pot of money for your team to rob from the building. Facing off against the police is one thing but only surviving members get a cut of the cash. So if there are three of you left when the police are dealt with do you split the money three ways? Or try and take out the other guys and keep it all for yourself? Absolutely fantastic.

 

So another lot wrapped up, we’re edging towards the Top 50!! Games 70 – 61 up next…

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

5 Comments

  1. […] post by GregHorrorShow […]

  2. […] post by GregHorrorShow […]

  3. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were very useful very helpful

  4. its great as your other articles : D, thanks for posting .

  5. […] GregHorrorShow’s Top 100 Games: 80 – 71 […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

