Step Brothers – Review (Film)

StepBrothers2

I love Will Ferrell. I’m gonna throw that out there right now. πŸ™‚

Anchorman, Elf, Stranger Than Fiction, Old School, Talledaga Nights, Kicking And Screaming, Blades Of Glory, Semi Pro… the list goes on and on. 😎

So I was hyped to see Step Brothers and strapped myself in for some Ferrell mayhem.

I enjoyed this film and it was funny but I think it really suffered as I’d seen Role Models the previous week and Step Brothers cannot hold a candle to it, I’m afraid.

Will Ferrell and John C Reilly play two grown men, each still living with a parent – and when those parents get it together, the two become Step Brothers.

StepBrothers

I can tell you now if you’re not a fan of Ferrell’s loud delivery you will not like this film – fortunately for me hearing him swear, or say odd funny phrases, at the top of his voice doesn’t get tired. πŸ˜†

And most of the laughs come from the rivalry between the two main characters as they learn to accept each other.

One thing that might’ve been overlooked by some people is that Ferrell and Reilly really do act like kids – I mean they are pretty much 8 years old (but with more bad language).

The plot was predictable but the gags were fairly funny and Step Brothers certainly raised some laughs however this isn’t one of his better films in my opinion.

I’d say this is up there with Kicking & Screaming, Blades Of Glory and Talledaga Nights but nowhere near the genius of Anchorman, Elf or Semi Pro.

Rating: 7/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

