“When Choosing Between Two Evils, I Always Like To Try The One I’ve Never Tried Before…”

EvilInfamous1

Well I have just done something in gaming that I have not done since my Sega Mega Drive days.

Completed a game a second time.

In this day and age, with the continued spread of Trophyitis and a veritible banquet of trophies for replaying a game, I often feel like I’m in the minority in that once I finish a game that’s it for me.

Obviously I’ll play multiplayer but not really single player.

Some games with alternate endings, like GTA IV for example, I have loaded up the penultimate mission and just played through the last mission to get the different ending.

I think I’m going back to Sonic The Hedgehog when I try to remember the last game I completed then started over.

InfamousSonic

But that all changed with the arrival Infamous – a game I wasn’t even that fussed about initially but is now a strong contender for my game of the year.

It’s the first game in a long time that I was up for replaying literally as the credits were rolling at the end of my first playthrough.

The final decision you make in the game locks you as good or evil so the only way to fully experience Infamous is to play it all the way through as good and then again as evil.

I always try and do whatever I think I would do when confronted with a karmic choice in gaming – I rescued every Little Sister I found in Bioshock 🙂 – and my first playthrough of Infamous was great. The people of the city loved me, taking photos etc.

But being evil was a lot more fun.

EvilInfamous2

I didn’t have to worry about anything at all. Running down the street? People in the way? Just melee attack them as you plough through them. Eventually no-one got in the way as they were all so scared of me they ran off screaming as soon as they saw me.

Cole’s powers were better when he was evil – a lot more destructive and explosive.

There were a few missions that were a chore just as much as the first time I played it but overall it was a great experience to see Empire City from both sides of the moral standpoint.

The overall story didn’t change but lots of details and character interaction did, which was awesome 😎

EvilInfamous3

It was quite nice to have this to fall back on during the notoriously quiet summer months for gaming.

Infamous made it in at number 50 in my Top 100 Games List and that was based on one playthrough.

It would be higher now and given how much enjoyment I got out of replaying it, mixed with the fact the differences in the storyline were really impressive (though subtle) I am upgrading Infamous from an 8/10 to a new rating:

9/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

