Iron Man – Review (Film)

IronMan

I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for Iron Man, despite knowing nothing about his character.

I had a toy figure of him when I was a kid and he seemed pretty cool but it wasn’t until the film was announced that I realised I’d never heard about where he came from or even what/who he was! 😮

And so I fired up the film hopeful of getting a decent story as I’d heard ok things about it.

Firstly I don’t know the character of Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts but Gwyneth Paltrow seemed completely mis-cast here and didn’t really do a great deal. She is reprising her role in the second movie and I hope she brings a bit more to the table this time around.

Iron Man 2

Robert Downey Jr was pretty good as Tony Stark (Iron Man’s secret identity) and he seems to be making some good choices recently in his career.

Personally I enjoyed this film but it wasn’t great by any means – perhaps hampered by having to tell the backstory and the fact that there wasn’t really a major villian so to speak.

The action sequences were well done and one thing the film did really well was how Stark initially struggles with his new personality and, indeed, the Iron Man suit itself.

It’s not a difficult watch and the twists are touch obvious but overall I would say it’s probably your average superhero flick.

If you like films such as Spiderman, Batman or even Fantastic Four then it is worth giving Iron Man a chance – it’s not gonna blow you away but it’s a decent enough film.

Rating: 6/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

