Burn After Reading – Review (Film)

Burn After Reading

I was hoping the general response to Burn After Reading, and the fairly negative reviews I’d seen, had been blown out of proportion.

I thought the film looked quite cool from the trailer and featured a lot of actors whose work I normally enjoy.

And it wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy this film… just that, well not much actually happened 😕

An ex-C.I.A man decides to write his memoires but a disc containing them is lost, found in a locker room by workers at a gym. The gym workers set about trying to blackmail the ex-C.I.A man with disasterous consequences. Chuck in some affairs and a generally depressing back drop and you have Burn After Reading.

Burn After Reading (2)

I thought John Malkovich was pretty good as Ozzy Cox (the aforementioned ex C.I.A man) with nice performances from Brad Pitt and Frances McDormand as the gym workers.

The way the characters all tied together was well done, if a little obvious at times but the fact of the matter was I didn’t really care about any of the characters.

Thankfully it only clocked in at around 90 minutes as it felt like it was dragging, even at that stage.

Burn After Reading isn’t the worst film I’ve ever seen but it’s boring for the most part and that is a feature I’m not really looking for in a film.

Rating: 4/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

1 Comment

  1. I’m with you there. After watching “No Country for Old Men” I had expected a bit more from the Cohens. Brad Pitt and George Clooney were quite hilarious though =p.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

