Uncharted 2 – Multiplayer Beta Impressions

Uncharted 2 Beta 2

Well I’ve just had an hour or so playing the online beta for Uncharted 2 – effectively a demo for the online section of the game – and I am extremely impressed.

Firstly let me just say I was struck by a problem that is often apparent in multiplayer betas, the fact that it seems to take 3 or 4 minutes of searching before you can join a game. I’m sure that this will be ironed out for the full product though.

Other than that I can’t think of a negative to report back 😀

After a few rounds the controls felt natural and intuitive, especially the climbing and vaulting mechanic. The cover system is well implemented – a tap of circle will see you take cover against the nearest wall.

Graphically the game is superb and the layout design of the levels feels brilliant – with several levels of verticality in each there are plenty of options.

There are all sorts of game modes – one I played was like ‘Capture And Hold’ in Killzone 2, which was good fun but other than that I only seemed to be able to get a game in one of the various iterations of Deathmatch.

Uncharted 2 Beta

There was one punishing version called Elimination that was superb – literally one life. You die, you’re out until the end of the round. Harsh but challenging for the harder gamers amongst us.

There are co-op online missions as well, which I believe will support up to 4 players.

It’s been a while since I’ve been blown away by a demo of a game but Uncharted 2 certainly fits the bill. I can’t wait to get this and play alongside my mates.

Download it for free from the PSN Store now and enjoy what just could be the Playstation 3’s jewel in the crown.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments

  1. Ah man, can’t wait ’til I get home!

  2. I was lucky enough to participate in the closed beta back in early June of this year and had the same thoughts as you do, its good to hear that they apparently refined the game even more since then. Like you this will be a day 1 purchase for me — I can’t wait.

    If you wanted to read my older impressions of the beta: http://beyondthedpad.com/2009/06/09/uncharted-2-beta-impressions/

    Keep the posts coming, we love each one of them.

  3. […] Added to all this is a new multiplayer mode that will take the Uncharted universe online for the first time! Check out my initial impressions of that here. […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

