Brutal Legend – Demo Impressions (PS3)

BrutalLegend

Well I finally got my hands on the Brutal Legend demo, a few weeks after the crazy decision to release it only to people who had pre-ordered the game šŸ˜•

And I have to say I was most impressed.

The first thing I noticed was how fun the game was – from the opening cut scene right through to the end of the demo.

Sure, if you hate Jack Black you might not enjoy the game so much but Eddie Riggs (his character) comes across as your everyday guy… just trapped within this strange fantastical land. šŸ™‚

It’s a fairly standard hack and slash at heart with X triggering an axe attack but it’s with the guitar that Eddie shines.

BrutalLegend2

Square sees you bust out your guitar and each note makes lighting strike an opponent. There is also the opportunity to unlock relics by playing a guitar solo – essentially a mini version of Guitar Hero but good fun nonetheless.

Occasionally the controls and camera weren’t great, especially when driving the car but everything felt solid enough that I imagine it won’t be a major problem.

Brutal Legend is one of those games I’ve been in two minds about – especially with regard to the multiplayer aspect – but having played the demo I would certainly like to see what other rock mayhem Eddie Riggs’ journey has to offer.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments

  1. […] This post was Twitted by GregHorrorShow […]

  2. The demo frickin’ rocked and showed alot of promise for the final game. Just looks really fun! I’m looking forward to some of the more RPG-type elements which should set it apart from other hack n’ slashers. Got my rock fingers crossed….

    \m/

  3. I was skeptical about the game; for some reason it just didn’t look like my type of game so its good to hear that it is fun. I haven’t checked out the demo yet but its something I had planned on doing. Although it will be a hard sell especially with all the other games set to release in the next coming months.

    As always great post.

  4. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

