Uncharted 2: Among Thieves – Review (PS3)

Uncharted 2 Main

Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune was an immense game and to this day remains one of the best single player games around.

The follow up, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, has been hyped up all over the place – one European magazine going so far as to give it a, frankly impossible, 21/20. 😆

Having enjoyed the first game I desperately tried not to buy too much into the hype for the sequel so I wasn’t disappointed.

There was no need to worry.

Uncharted 2 2

Uncharted 2 is a complete gaming package. There is plenty of taking out bad guys, lots of puzzles and some wonderful dialogue.

Naughty Dog really have done a great job on the voice acting and the expressiveness of the character models. It is easily the best I’ve come across (though Heavenly Sword was a close second).

I won’t spoil the story but for those who don’t know, Nathan Drake gets pulled back into that murky world of treasure hunting for hire. I loved the story of this game – with a few twists I saw coming and a few I didn’t.

Uncharted 2 3

The gameplay opens in epic fashion, with Drake desperately trying to escape a train that has derailed and is hanging over a cliff edge, and continues in that vein for the rest of the game.

The puzzle sections are nicely done, with you using Drake’s journal to solve them. They aren’t too hard which is good with me. 😆

Uncharted 2 gives you a lot more options of how to do things than it’s predecessor. If you can get away with it you can stealth some sections of the game – not bypassing enemies but by taking them down silently along the way.

Graphically the game is superb and the audio is also top notch. With a varied set of exotic locations Uncharted 2 keeps things fresh and some of the views on high climbs are particularily impressive.

Uncharted 2 4

I played the game on Normal and it was nicely challenging (clocking in at just under 11 hours) but the range varies from Very Easy all the way through to Crushing (Very Hard) so there should be something for everyone.

Indeed, even if you’re not a big gamer, stick it on Very Easy and give it a go – it’s a game everyone should play.

The multiplayer aspect, which I was worried would be just tagged on the end after the single player, is a well thought out and very enjoyable experience. See here for my more detailed look at the beta.

Being able to traverse the terrain on so many levels vertically in multiplayer really adds some depth and with some interesting Boosts (Skills) to aquire this looks like one I’ll be playing online for a while. 😎

Uncharted 2 5

Overall I think the guys at Invisible Walls made a great point on the game – Uncharted 2 doesn’t do anything groundbreaking or new but it improves on the original by borrowing the best bits from other games, adding them into the mix and bringing in it’s own amazing characters and great story.

If you own a PS3 there is no reason not to own this game – if you only have an XBox 360 or Wii then get yourself a PS3 Slim and enjoy one of the most finely crafted games I’ve ever experienced.

Rating: 10/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

10 Comments

  1. I agree totally. Great review!

    See you in co-op mate ;O)

  2. I too completely agree. I am currently writing my review and its one of the most difficult I had to write since my experience was hard to put in written form. Lets just say it was good. Great write up.

  3. I am half way through the game – only because I had to come to work today – and so far it hasn’t disappointed. Visually it’s superb – gameplay and cutscenes blend perfectly. The story and characters are great – much has been said of the voice acting and rightly so. The dialogue would suit an Indiana Jones movie, sarcasm, humour, one lines gerat stuff.. The platforming and shooting is balanced perfectly.

    If I have onle complaint its the number of shots it can take to bring a bad guy down.

  4. […] 1. UNCHARTED 2: AMONG THIEVES […]

  5. […] 1. UNCHARTED 2: AMONG THIEVES (1) […]

  6. […] the online part of this expansion, Undead Overrun, is truly panic inducing. I thought Seige mode on Uncharted 2 (in which you face wave after wave of enemies) was tough but my word, Overrun tops it. More for the […]

  7. […] seen predominantly single player games include multiplayer in impressive and interesting ways (Uncharted 2 and Assassins Creed: Brotherhood to name two) but Dead Space 2 tries to moves the single player to […]

  8. […] a lot of people were wondering whether Naughty Dog would be able to improve on the superb ‘Among Thieves,’ a game that walked away with awards for ‘Best Voice Acting,’ ‘Best […]

  9. It is an amazing and great informative blog… I really love to read some more! – xploder

  10. […] Also the voice acting is superb. I thought it might be an issue having Nolan North (of Nathan Drake/Uncharted fame) in the lead role but after the first 20 minutes or so I completely forgot he was even voicing […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

