Battlefield: Bad Company 2 – Demo Impressions

As you may remember from reading my Beta impressions, or indeed my 2009 Game Awards, Battlefield Bad Company 2 is my most wanted game of 2010.

Now that a mulitplayer demo has gone up on the PSN everyone can give it a try. And I suggest they do 🙂

The main difference between this and the Beta (other than the obvious one of bugs having been ironed out) is that rather than a desert based map this one is snowy. And also the weapons seem less plentiful, though that might be because I haven’t ranked up yet.

For me personally the demo is vindication of my preaching to all and sundry of just how good this game is. And we’ve only played multiplayer so far.

DICE could give me the multiplayer maps/objectives with all the other characters as AI and some nonsense backstory and Battlefield: Bad Company 2’s campaign mode would STILL be better than Modern Warfare 2’s weak single player story.

I found a wonderful sniper spot on one part of the map and was racking up the kills before running out of ammo and having to ‘Leeroy Jenkins’ it with just a pistol. 😎

The map proves as diverse as the desert based one and you obviously still have the vehicles as before. This demo showcases the games strengths.

However, this isn’t going to be a game for everyone and if you go steaming in the chances are you will die… a lot. You’ll need to be a bit more stealthy, hiding behind something and running to the next point of cover is a good idea – whereas running down the middle of a road will most likely see you shot in the head.

If you are into first person shooters then this is definitely one for you. I’ll be very surprised if the full game isn’t head and shoulders above all competition – my current multiplayer FPS favourite Killzone 2 included.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments

  1. I agree with all of the above, having had a quick look today and playing one round I can see it’s going to be amazing. I’m a relative newcomer to the FPS world and LOVE Killzone 2 so this is going to have a long way to go to get ahead of that in the multiplayer stakes….but it might just do it! First round was 7 kills, 14 deaths and managed to diffuse a bomb in Alpha base! Happy days!

  2. This game is going to be great! Had a go on the online demo and it was great fun – difficult but head and shoulders above some other First person shooters!

  3. Playing this demo was truly awesome and reminded me of the the first FPS I ever played witch was Battlefield 2, so no surprise. But I really enjoyed this demo and the first Bad Company, and hope with game is even better!

  4. […] everyone again with how much I want to play this game – check out my beta impressions and demo impressions for a more in depth […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

