plat•i•num [plat-n-uhm, plat-nuhm]

“1. Chemistry. a heavy, grayish-white, highly malleable and ductile metallic element, resistant to most chemicals, practically unoxidizable except in the presence of bases, and fusible only at extremely high temperatures.

2. a light, metallic gray with very slight bluish tinge when compared with silver.

3. achievement awarded for 100% trophy completion within a game on the Playstation 3 console system.”

.

I’ve spoken many times about Trophies and the lengths some people will go to for a ‘ping’ in the top right hand corner of the screen.

I have a healthy Trophy score, which has occurred mostly naturally – I admit picking up a few trophies having known in advance what is required – but I have no inclination to go over old games for the sake of a few trophies.

Don’t get me wrong I have no problem with people going for trophies, it just doesn’t interest me personally.

But recently something has been bugging me. As many of you will know I would class myself as a fairly serious gamer and I noticed a few weeks ago when looking through my trophy collection that my highest trophy percentage for a game is Terminator Salvation. (81% Trophy Completion)

That’s right, the lowest scored game in the history of this site. The most boring PS3 title I’ve ever finished appears to be my most played and completed game 😥

In terms of general playthroughs the closest was Assassin’s Creed II (71%), with most other titles coming in around 40-50%.

As I started my 2nd playthrough of Heavy Rain in an attempt to unlock a certain ending (I’m staying vague in case I give ANYTHING away :lol:) I was using the help of a guide to make sure I did it correctly and suddenly realised something.

Playing through most of the chapters again using the conditions I needed and getting a different result to my original playthrough in most of them was actually gonna inadvertently net me a heap of trophies.

Could this finally be the game to rid me of the shame of Terminator Salvation? I must also add at this point that my ‘haul’ from Terminator was via one 4 hour playthrough on EASY in which you got a gold trophy for finishing each level 😮

After completing the ending I was looking for in Heavy Rain I decided I’d enjoyed it so much that I wanted to see all the possible endings and find out what could’ve happened. Again I grabbed the guide and, checking the way to do it, realised that if it went as planned I would then only be a handful of trophies short of a platinum :wow:

And while I’m not that into Trophies there was no way I’d let myself not get a platinum by that small amount. Especially when even those last trophies would let me see new scenes/outcomes.

And so there it is – my first ever Platinum Trophy (and probably my last).

You see, Heavy Rain’s Trophies were based around content, not skill. This Platinum isn’t for gaming skill (although I did have to ace some of the quick time events) but having the patience to experience all there is within Heavy Rain.

And I’m glad I took the time to have the complete Heavy Rain experience, firstly because the game and all it’s outcomes were very cool and secondly because Quantic Dream’s ambitious project washed away the embarrassment of having one of the worst games I’ve ever played at the top of my list. 🙂

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments

  1. You dirty trophy whore! Well done mate…

    I completely agree with you on the content nature of the trophies in ‘Heavy Rain’, and if there was a game that I would possibly max-out on, then ‘Heavy Rain’ would be it. When I eventually replay it, it’ll be for the alternative story threads…but if I happen to get some more trophies (and possibly a Platinum) along the way then I won’t complain.

  2. I have a similar attitude towards trophies, I will never play a game strictly for the trophies especially if that game is bad. A perfect example of that as you mentioned in your post was Terminator Salvation, it could have been very easy for me to replay that short game just to get a Platinum but its not worth it. I will also never rent a game just to get easy trophies.

    The game I will attempt to Platinum or games that I enjoy and simply want to show off my affection with a shiny Platinum trophy, or that I enjoy so much I want to keep playing, Fallout 3 comes to mind. But like you I don’t mind the people that do “Trophy Whore’ if that is the way they want to play, so be it.

  3. *cries*

    Oh woe is me 😦 For so long I have been the only holder of a shiny platinum *ding* trophy that I know *sniff* and now you come along and take that away from me *wails*

    Seriously Greg – grats! But I would say that as soon as Dan and I get Heavy Rain (and if it’s as good as you say it is) I WILL try to get another!!! MWAHAHAHAHA *coughs*

    For those people who may wish to call me a ‘trophy whore’, my platinum was for Fallout 3 – one of the most playable and pleasing games I have played. I did replay certain bits – but it was simply for my pleasure 🙂 and I’m actually quite proud of my trophy! *grins*


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

