Vanquish – Demo Impressions (PS3)

 

I’ve seen various trailers and bits ‘n pieces on Vanquish over the last few months but it never really grabbed hold of me.

For a start it looked far too crazy with so much happening onscreen I was concerned I’d struggle to play it.

Then I found out it’s made by Platinum Games who made Bayonetta, which caught my attention. So I downloaded the demo not really knowing what to expect.

And what I got was a pretty hardcore third person shooter. My concern about too much onscreen at once was dismissed within the first five minutes – when you’re playing the game you just deal with whatever’s thrown at you and it was no trouble.

The game looks great, although the voice acting is cheesy as hell. I enjoyed the combat and the ability to momentarily slow down time is great and helps to make sure you aren’t too overwhelmed by enemies.

If all this sounds very familiar it’s because Vanquish is basically the exact same game as Bayonetta – except they’ve changed the environment and concentrated more on gunplay. And that isn’t a bad thing.

Obviously this impression is based on the demo so it may be slightly different and varied in the final game but the demo has hooked me in. While Vanquish isn’t a day one purchase for me, it’s certainly a title I’ll be looking to get hold of at some stage.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments

  1. […] This post was Twitted by dj_christy […]

  2. I always enjoy your view and perspective on games. So I am glad you have had the chance to post a lot lately.

    As far as Vanquish I played some of it this past year at E3 and I had similar reactions. It looked fantastic and was very fast paced, I am looking forward to checking it out. But like you am not sure if it will be a Day 1 purchase for me. BUt a definate rent so far.

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Greg Turner, christopher marron. christopher marron said: RT @GregHorrorShow: #GAME Demo Impressions – Vanquish (#PS3): http://bit.ly/944elg […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

