The Darkest Evening Of The Year by Dean Koontz – Review (Book)

I’m a big fan of Dean Koontz, some of his books are truly excellent and I have a bit of a back log to get through.

The Darkest Evening Of The Year was next up for me to read and it tells the story of Amy Redwing – the owner of a charity that rescues abused and abandoned dogs. Her boyfriend Brian tags along on a call to one such dog but everything is not quite as it seems.

I struggled to get into this book and I was wondering whether it’s because I’m not a big dog person? Nothing against dogs and I don’t have any issue with them, I just don’t feel an affinity with them so maybe that was what I felt was missing.

Also it was a touch too supernatural for me.

As the book prgressed the story got more and more nonsensical, which I appreciate isn’t a great criticism when you’re talking about a supernatural thriller.

I think the main problem was that I didn’t really care that much about any of the characters so the whole thing left me feeling a bit cold.

I’m afraid this is one Koontz novel I wouldn’t recommend, unless perhaps you love dogs.

Rating 3/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

1 Comment

  1. […] here: The Darkest Evening Of The Year by Dean Koontz – Review (Book … Related Posts:Book Review – The Darkest Evening of the Year – Dean Koontz … This book is […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

