Crysis 3 – Review (PS3)

Crysis3 Main

I wasn’t a massive fan of Crysis 2 but enjoyed it enough to be looking forward to giving Crysis 3 a shot. I hadn’t seen much in the way of trailers or previews so I was expecting more of the same.

And for the most part that’s what I got. However Crysis 3 does some things to set it apart from it’s predecessor.

Graphically I’d say the game is another step up, especially in terms of the human faces on the characters. The world is well crafted and the opening moments in the rain are gorgeous.

Crysis3 1

My main gripe from the last game, enemies spotting you from miles away while you’re trying to formulate a plan, has thankfully been remedied. If you keep yourself relatively well hidden it’s rare for enemies to randomly spot you (at least on Normal difficulty) and this adds even more depth to the tactical options you have.

The ‘nanosuit’ you wear delivers different abilities that all drain the suit’s power level. The power recharges over time but this means you can’t just spam one ability indefinitely, which is a good thing.

You can either try to just blast your way through trouble using the armor ability to soak up more damage, use your suit’s super jump ability to get yourself out of a situation or avoid the situation altogether by activating your cloaking ability and sneaking past the enemies.

Crysis3 2

I found myself mixing and matching a lot more in Crysis 3 as opposed to the previous game because of the extra freedom afforded to the player in terms of enemy patterns/awareness. I don’t feel any of the changes that improved things have affected the AI of enemies – who still deal with you ruthlessly if they get the chance.

I wasn’t particularly invested in the story that carries over but I did like your British colleague ‘Psycho’ and thought his voice acting was fairly strong. I could take or leave the story though, unfortunately it didn’t really resonate with me. It was a surprisingly short campaign as well but to be honest that was a plus because it meant minimal filler.

Weapons have a hefty feel to them, which is nice, and the bow is a welcome addition. I didn’t use it as much as I did the one in Tomb Raider but it definitely got me out of a few sticky situations – especially the explosive arrows!

Crysis3 3

The multiplayer was fairly decent fun but there was nothing really in there to pull me in and keep me playing. Unfortunately, Crysis 3 seems to be one of those titles where the multiplayer isn’t really needed but they persist with it anyway. It’s definitely not bad, it’s certainly playable and competitive, however the suit abilities aren’t really enough the hook you in. Even the new ‘Hunter’ mode doesn’t add much to the package.

Crysis 3 is a weird game to review – it’s an improvement on the previous game and it’s online offering is better than Crysis 2. I liked some of the characterisation and graphically it looked great. It’s just that the rest of it was, well… average. I wouldn’t recommend people not to play Crysis 3, it’s worth the time but perhaps this is a title that would be best suited to a rental as opposed to a purchase.

Rating: 7/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

