GregHorrorShow: The Books Of 2013

Farenheit 451

I’ve managed to read quite a lot of books this year, across both new works and some that are considered classics.

Unfortunately there were a few titles that I just couldn’t get into. The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster was one such book, as was Catch 22 by Joseph Heller. Neither really did anything for me, which I feel is a shame as they are obviously well respected works.

From current writing I was disappointed with Hitman: Damnation by Raymond Benson. I’ve read some really interesting books based on game worlds in recent years and this one turned out to be a bit of a bust. Not terrible, just pretty average.

Consider

Here are the books I’d recommend checking out from those I read during 2013 (in no order):

  • The Affair – Lee Child
  • The Chrysalids – John Wyndam
  • To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  • The Way It Is – George Pelecanos
  • Rainbow Six – Tom Clancy
  • Hallucinating Focault – Patricia Dunker
  • Catcher In The Rye – JD Salinger
  • Consider Pheblas – Iain Banks
  • Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
  • Dead Space: Catalyst – BK Evenson
  • Like Water For Chocolate – Laura Esquivel
  • The Fall – Guillermo Del Toro/Chuck Hogan
  • The Wanted Man – Lee Child

Lee Child delivered as always and I found John Wyndam’s The Chrysalids to be a haunting book that had a real impact.

BK Evenson delivered a very good game-based novel with Dead Space: Catalyst and The Fall by Chuck Hogan/Guillermo Del Toro was a great way to round out the Strain trilogy.

KillAMockingbird

However my two favourite books this year (I can’t pick between them!) were To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee and Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. Both superbly written and with gripping plots.

What have you guys been reading this year? I’m always on the lookout for new books so feel free to shout out in the comments below if you have any recommendations (old or new!)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments

  1. I didn’t do nearly enough reading this year. 😦 I’m curious though, what video game books would you recommend? I haven’t read any books set in game worlds, but they are something I would be willing to look into.

    • Well I’d say first thing you need to have an interest in the accompanying game otherwise they lose a lot of their allure! The Bioware stuff is good – Dragon Age and Mass Effect are a couple I’ve read that were well written and gave you some context of the world around the games. Also the Dead Space books have been enjoyable for me.

      It’s not based on a specific game but I would 100% recommend Ernest Cline’s ‘Ready Player One’ which is brilliant!

      • Hmm.. I would love to learn more about the Mass Effect universe. I’ll look into the Ernest Cline book, too. Thanks!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

