We Need To Talk About Kevin – Review (Film)

I’m always weary of those books I see *everyone* on the train reading. It’s almost like being constantly bombarded with advertising every single morning/evening.

One of those books was ‘We Need To Talk About Kevin.’

My wife read it and while she enjoyed it she thought the premise was too easy to spot and saw the twist coming a mile off. So I was intrigued to see what the film had to offer.

What I wasn’t expecting was to come out of the cinema having experienced one of the most hard hitting films I’ve ever seen.

Make no mistake ‘We Need To Talk About Kevin’ isn’t easy to watch. It’s a bleak film which is quick to put down moments of happiness.

I would be interested to hear from anyone who has seen this that doesn’t have kids – only because I wonder if fact I have young children is why it effected me so much?

The film is shot fantastically and the performances from all of the main characters are superb – Tilda Swinton is glorious as tortured mother Eva and it was a pleasant surprise to see John C Reilly reigned in from his usual madcap performances.

I already knew the basic plot and still found myself suckered in.

This is a film that pulls no punches but if you’re willing to put yourself through that it is a really rewarding watch. It’s not often that I count coming out of a film feeling a bit like I’ve been punched in the stomach as a good thing but ‘We Need To Talk About Kevin’ had that effect.

Rating: 9/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments

  1. very nice put up, i actually love this website, keep on it

  2. […] on the link to read the full review of ‘We Need To Talk about Kevin‘ but it was a film that pulled no punches and I thought Tilda Swinton was amazing. It was […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

