Singularity – Review (PS3)

Singularity was another of those games I’d been meaning to get around to for ages. Then on my first play through I encountered a horrible corrupt save bug that meant my PS3 reset itself every other time I hit a checkpoint in the game.

After deciding to cut my losses and just restart the game, I blasted my way through the couple of hours I’d lost and was back up to speed in no time.

Hopefully that is an issue that won’t affect many people because other than that Singularity was a pretty smooth running game.

It’s made by Raven (of Wolverine fame) so unfortunately my pet hate of having no subtitle option rears it’s ugly again but that certainly isn’t a game breaker.

Singularity tells the story of Captain Nathaniel Renko, a military investigator sent as part of a squad to check out a weird electromagnetic surge originating in Russia.

I won’t touch on the story any more than that as the game had some very nice plot twists and interesting mechanics.

Graphically the game looks ok – I wasn’t particularly blown away by it – and the controls handle well enough.

Singularity is similar to Bioshock in that you have one hand wielding a weapon and the other using a power. Rather than plasmids, in this case it’s the TMD (Time Manipulation Device) which allows you to age or revitalise items (such as broken staircases/bridges etc) or even people if you wish.

The TMD also allows you (at certain pre-scripted points in the game) to open up time rifts and travel back in time. This leads to some great game moments but, as with anything time travel related, can mean the story becomes fairly complex.

Overall, Singularity is a good game. My bugged first attempt at playing it didn’t discourage me enough to put me off the game and I’m glad of that. This is a competent shooter with a decent story and some really nice plot moments.

Rating: 7/10

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments

  1. […] the original post here: Singularity – Review (PS3) « GregHorrorShow Posted in PS3 Games Review Tags: been-meaning, first-play, horrible-corrupt, ps3 game review, […]

  2. I liked Singularity quite a bit. I think it’s one of the more underrated titles to come out in the last couple years. That’s too bad you had a game-breaking glitch, but it’s good to know that you didn’t let it stop you from giving the game its proper due anyway.

  3. […] budgets. We’ve seen a few over the last couple of years – things like Bulletstorm, Singularity or Shadows Of The Damned – and unfortunately it appears these titles just aren’t […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

